Michael Oatman for President! We Can Take the Power Back!

Hello Everyone,

Please allow me to introduce myself; my name is Michael Oatman and I am seeking nomination as a candidate for the office of President of the United States of America from the Democratic Party.

I am submitting my Candidate Nomination Paper via the Tucson Weekly for the Arizona Presidential Preference Election to be held on the 5th day of February 2008.

Before I begin to write about my platform, I would like to tell you how I came to be running for President. It was in the early Reagan years when I was in grade school, learning civics, that I did the math and figured that I would be just old enough to be able to run for president, then far off in 2008. I have since considered it to be a civic duty, an avocation if you will, and have spoken of the possibility on rather many occasions to a great number of people throughout the years. My friends would sit around and debate (hypothetically) who would get which cabinet position.

So when I turned 35 last March 10th and started talking about getting 250 people together who could each find one thousand individuals who were willing to donate $1000 to my campaign, no one was much surprised. But when the Tucson Weekly put forth their 22 November 2007 issue with the “Project White House” cover story, I said immediately “okay, I said I was running, so now I’m definitely doing it if they’re just going to throw it in my face”. And with that, here it is. A nice story, but let’s get to the meat of things.

Now, I would like to tell you a little about my platform. Actually, unlike just about every candidate who is currently running for president, I would like to describe fully (to a practical extent) the platform upon which I will be running for the office of President of the United States of America.

We all have heard the push-button issues about which the current candidates have made their televised sound bites: the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan; universal health care; reduced deficit, and particularly debt; middle class job sector improvement; a federal executive trashing the Bill of Rights and the Constitution; the border and migration issues; the failing housing market and economy; and many more. Then, there are the usual suspects like gun control, abortion and gay marriage. In a moment, I will address all of these issues.

However, I think it is important for all of us to step back and look at the whole of things, “the big picture” so to speak. These issues, while debating and discussing them is extremely important when finding a solution, they have tended to do more harm to the peoples of this country, at least in their attitudes toward one another.

While it may not be as bad as in 2004, mostly because nearly everyone wants to end the war in Iraq very soon, when we talk about immigration, about recruiting in schools or in general, or about when and where are the most appropriate times to protest, we can see that we are becoming increasingly intolerant to what we consider “the other side”, when usually there are always shades of grey.

I think that the Peoples of the several States of these united States of America ought to truly and finally set aside their differences and do come together in order to be completely themselves. It would be a marvelous day when we can all say that we fully know who we are, and who each other are, and have understanding and show respect for this; this which is not exactly the current state of affairs.

With that said, I would like to say a little about myself. I consider myself to be, first and foremost, a logician. My profession is a computer scientist, or an “IT Guy”. The way I approach problem solving is with the goal of *actually solving the problem* rather than giving lip service to some group or a sound bite or two to the media. When the latter is done by politicians, the goal is not to necessarily *do* anything about the issue, but rather simply to quell the populace, or a particular group; to spin the media so that the issue becomes a “non-issue” is the immediate goal of this rationale. I employ no such rationale.

I would also like to mention that I currently host and produce a television show entitled “Illegal Knowledge” (http://IllegalKnowledge.com/) on the local public access stations, Access Tucson (http://access.tucson.org/). The show’s tagline is “Everything we should have known, but were never supposed to find out”, and the issues in this season, season two, have ranged from the Question of the Middle East, to 9/11 Revisited, to Media and Corporatism, to A Discussion of Non-Valuation, and even featured an Election Special with Proposition 200 author John Kromko as guest. I am keenly aware of the subtleties of the global events happening today, and I will not hesitate to bring that knowledge to my Administration.

Let us now go onward and discuss various specific issues relating to topics of today. I am and will be always open to input from the People of this Nation, and I currently will make my email address available for this purpose; it is oatman@geocities.com and all who wish may write to me there, or to Post Office Box 304, in Tucson, Arizona, 85702, for those of you who prefer snail mail (parcels will not be accepted). If anyone emails me with generally important issues, they will also be answered on my blog at Yahoo 360 (http://360.yahoo.com/illegalknowledge). I will first state that I am generally, although not without exception, socially left-leaning and fiscally conservative.

In the arenas of health care, jobs and housing, I would like to side fully with the bulk of the People who are disaffected as a result of this administration’s policies. We must support the People who support this Nation, and we can do that by providing full and free health care, tax heavily corporations who wish to outsource jobs overseas (if not prevent it outright), and work with home builders to create a glut of affordable and decent housing, while keeping interest rates low. More on exactly how to accomplish this will appear on my blog in the near future.

In issues of federal and executive importance, I strongly believe in the efficacy of our Constitution and give myself as a strict constructionist if not an originalist; that is I will use the executive to interpret the Constitution in its original meaning, with emphasis given to the Articles and Amendments themselves. This means I will roll back all domestic spying and the myriad of other executive abuses perpetrated by the current administration, I will work to end the deficit *AND* debt, partially by bringing to and end by political means the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan (and wherever else by the end of Bush’s term).

I will write much more on these and many issues later, but for now I will ask all of you this: where would you like to see this Nation be in five years?

I look forward to representing We the People of these United States of America in the next general election in 2008. This is now the time to register to vote and, most certainly, to vote for me, Michael Oatman, on election day, Tuesday 4 November 2008, and I thank you well in advance for your vote that day.

Sincerely,
Michael Oatman

oatman@geocities.com
http://blog.MichaelOatman.com/
http://MySpace.MichaelOatman.com/

Contact Info:

  • My email address is oatman@geocities.com
  • My mailing address is:
    PO Box 304
    Tucson, Arizona. 85702-0304

Please send email if you would like me to answer a particular issue very quickly. I apologize for the informality, but I can type rather quickly being a computer guy by profession, and therefore I can answer much more mail this way.

Please send regular mail if you need to mail in a campaign donation or any other type of contribution to my campaign. Sending anything but flat parcels or regular envelopes is *VERY* highly discouraged by the post office and myself.

Thank You Everyone,
Michael Oatman

oatman@geocities.com
http://blog.MichaelOatman.com/
http://MySpace.MichaelOatman.com/

Comments Off on Michael Oatman for President! We Can Take the Power Back!

Filed under General

Comments are closed.